Central Washington Agricultural Museum
Key’s 1908 Homestead
The Keys Homestead is a replica of the one Margaret was born and raised in on Riverside Road near Terrace Heights, Washington. Margaret was born in 1911 to David and Lucy Keys. Her parents had a herd of eight dairy cows and they farmed several crops.
Margaret continues to live on her family’s farm. Yes, Margaret is over 100 years old! The replica home is furnished with many things from her original home just as it was furnished when she was born, even the bed! This is a step back in time to a much simpler, more basic and smaller lifestyle.
Northern Pacific Railroad Box Car
Volunteers can make a big difference in the life of a museum!! Through the efforts of Les Vannice the museum box-car was donated by Northern Pacific. In 1988, during a winter trip to Fort Worth, Texas, Les stopped in at the Railroad’s headquarters with only a museum brochure and asked the railroad to donate a box-car and they did!
Six weeks later Les received a letter pertaining to two box-cars in Pasco that were ear-marked just for the museum. At the same time Yakima City was taking its street-car tracks out along Nob Hill Blvd. in preparation to widen the street. The museum was able to obtain and use 150 feet of tracks and ties to accommodate the coming Railroad addition. By April 1989, with help from three different movers who all donated their labor to the museum, the box-car was finally in its resting place at the museum.
The box-car houses historical working replicas of the Yakima Railroad yards during the 1930’s. “Mag” Magness and John Holmquist (a conductor on the SP&S railroad) donated many things which reside in the box-car including a conductor’s uniform which was John’s in his working days.
The Amos Cabin was built by Joseph D. Amos and other family members in 1917. The family lived in Cowiche, Washington. It was donated to the museum by the J. Harold Amos family in April of 1993. Donations from Joe & Jim Cameron in honor of George & Celestine Eschbach along with a matching donation from the Smith-Kline Beecham Foundation made moving, restoring and furnishing the cabin to time period a reality. Many museum volunteers worked diligently for over a year to restore and furnish this excellent example of a pioneer cabin.
Magness Tool Collection
This wonderful collection is located in the east end of the visitor’s center in the Magness Tool Room. Owner “Mag” Magness donated the room and his tool collection of over 3,000 beautifully restored hand tools.
This is a remarkable collection which has been viewed and enjoyed by countless visitors.
Be sure to make this a must-see on your museum visit!
The Grange Library
The Library area was built by area Yakima County Grange associations. It houses many written remarkable resources donated by various members, grange members and visitors. There are many displays and collections in the Grange Library room. Many of the displays and memorabilia describe the origin and Grange history of the Grange throughout Yakima Valley and Washington State Grange. The room also has meeting tables which are used for meetings and work space.
Built in honor of the Lindeman family, this building displays six distinct areas of early pioneer life; a tack shop, a gas station, wood-smith shop, a homestead, early American toys and a general store. It also houses restored horse-drawn buggies! The Lindeman Building exhibits are a must see!
This is a 1930’s saw mill with a display of antique chain saws. The mill is demonstrated during the Central Washington Antique Farm Equipment Club Show each August at the Pioneer Power Show held at Central Washington Agricultural Museum Show grounds.
The farmstead includes a kiddie train, train depot, windmill, corn crib and many turn of the century artifacts pertaining to farm life.
The kiddie train is a very popular exhibit and is enjoyed by countless children at all times. Our museum conductor and the assistant also enjoy running the train and seeing the happy children!
On School Field Trips the students get to shell ears of corn!
Craig Eschbach Educational Center
This building was built by Bob & Marty Eschbach in honor of their son Craig. Until recently it housed many unique artifacts collected by the Eschbach’s. The family realized that a building was needed for use in our up-coming educational programs and graciously donated the use of the building for this purpose.
The Museum is thankful to the Eschbach family.
There are many Wonderful Exhibits on the Museum grounds * They are all too numerous to list * Come and Visit * Bring your camera * Enjoy a wonderful time with family * Learn about our agricultural history and heritage and have a great fun time!